Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Top News

Another country has joined the US space alliance

Another country has joined the US space alliance

There are now 35 member states of the Artemis Agreement.

Greece is the latest country to join the US space alliance, the Artemis Accords website. Yorgos Gerapetritisz The Greek Foreign Minister signed the agreement on February 9 at the US State Department, as part of a broader US-Greek strategic dialogue.

Congratulations to Greece on becoming the 35th country to join the Artemis Accords family

– Tell Bill NelsonNASA administrator at the signing ceremony. “The United States and Greece have been long-time partners and friends, and we are pleased to expand this partnership into space. Together we are shaping the future of cooperation in space for the Artemis generation,” he added.

The agreements set out principles for peaceful and responsible space activities and are particularly consistent with NASA's Artemis program on the Moon. As part of the program, the United States will once again send a human to the Moon, lay the foundation for a permanent human presence on the celestial body, and prepare for manned missions to Mars.

America established the Artemis Accords in 2020, and at that time seven other countries joined the initiative in addition to the United States. Today, with the exception of Antarctica, there are countries from every continent that are part of the alliance.

The initiative has a clear competitor, the Chinese-led International Lunar Exploration Station Cooperation Organization (ILRSCO), which has so far been joined by Azerbaijan, Belarus, Egypt, Pakistan, Russia, South Africa, and Venezuela. ILRSCO will coordinate and manage the International Lunar Research Station to be established by the countries concerned in the 2030s.

See also  Index - Abroad - People who want to board a plane in New Zealand are required to weigh themselves

The Artemis Convention builds on principles set forth in the 1967 Outer Space Treaty, according to NASA, and promotes best practices such as releasing scientific data. Key signatories include Canada, France, Germany, India, Italy, Japan, South Korea, Saudi Arabia, Spain and the United Kingdom.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You May Also Like

Top News

In a harrowing incident that has shaken the community of Lewiston, Maine, a series of shootings on Wednesday evening resulted in a tragic loss...

Top News

President Joe Biden’s abrupt departure from a speech on the U.S. economy at the White House on Monday sent a ripple of speculation and...


A dangerous application appeared in the Apple App Store disguised as a known program. reported the Based on TechCrunch article. Dangerous app in...


Chinese scientists have discovered a little-known type of ore containing a rare earth metal highly sought after for its superconducting properties. The ore, called...

Copyright © 2023 Campus Lately.