Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


Index – Sports – Last year's silver medalist was eliminated from the World Ice Hockey Championship

Index – Sports – Last year's silver medalist was eliminated from the World Ice Hockey Championship

In Prague, the foreign players – who were also preparing for the tournament in Budapest – led 2-0 against the Slovaks in the fifth minute. Although the improvement came, the two-goal difference returned at the beginning of the second half. In the final term, the score was already 5-1, and Canada's lead was out of the question.

The elimination means that the Slovaks' next match is scheduled to be in the Olympic qualifiers in Bratislava on August 29 against the Hungarians.

In Ostrava, the Germans, who won the silver medal last year, lost to the Swiss due to a goalkeeping error, then conceded another goal before the first break.

The Germans' performance improved in the middle of the match through Dominik Kahun, who is currently in Switzerland, but the empty goal sealed their fate, according to MTI.

On Thursday evening, unbeaten Sweden and the host Czech Republic joined Canada and Switzerland

In Prague, the home team took the lead in the 27th minute with a puck that bounced off Pavel Zacha's body, and as it turned out, that also meant a place in the top four.

In Ostrava, the Swedes, who finished 100% in the group stage, met their arch rivals, the defending Olympic champions, the Finns, but were only able to score in the 57th minute.

He equalized in the last minute after the opponent's goalkeeper fell. It could have come to extra time, as the Swedes had a man advantage, which they took advantage of.

See also  Running out of air about Urban - Fierce European arguments over Biden

Ice Hockey, World Championship, Quarterfinals:

  • Canada-Slovakia 6-3 (2-1, 1-0, 3-2)
  • Switzerland – Germany 3-1 (2-0, 0-1, 1-0)
  • Czech Republic – USA 1-0 (0-0, 1-0, 0-0)
  • Sweden – Finland 2-1 (0-0, 0-0, 1-1, 1-0), after extra time

And in the semi-finals on Saturday:

  • Canada-Switzerland
  • Sweden-Czech Republic