Canada won the Women's Ice Hockey World Cup, and next year's group schedule has been set

Canada won the Women’s Ice Hockey World Cup, and next year’s group schedule has been set

Defending champions Canada won the Women’s World Cup in Denmark after beating Team USA 2-1 in the final on Sunday. On Saturday, it was revealed that the Hungarians – by far the best performance of all time – finished eighth.

The International Football Association (IIHF) has organized the Women’s World Cup since 1990, and so far only these two countries have been the first. With this, Canada is leading 12-9 in gold medals.

On the dividers:
In the end:
Canada-US 2-1 (0-0, 2-1, 0-0)

For third place:
Czech-Switzerland 4-2 (2-1, 2-0, 0-1)

For fifth place:
Japan – Finland 1-0 (0-0, 0-0, 0-0, 0-0), after penalties

The final result: 1. Canada, 2. United States, 3. Czech Republic, 4. Switzerland, 5. Japan, 6. Finland, 7. Sweden, 8. Hungary, 9. Germany, 10. Denmark.

Group standings for next year’s World Cup in Canada:
Group A: United States, Canada, Switzerland, Czech Republic, Japan
Group B: Finland, Sweden, Hungary, Germany, France

Cover Photo:
epa10160036 Canada’s Brian Jenner celebrates after scoring 0-2 during the IIHF Women’s World Ice Hockey Championships with the gold medal match between the United States and Canada, in Herning, Denmark, September 4, 2022. EPA / Bo Amstrup DENMARK OUT

See also  INDEX - Abroad - Boris Johnson banned from entering Russia

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.