Canada won the Women's World Hockey Championship

Canada won the Women’s World Hockey Championship

Host Canada won the Women’s World Hockey Championship in Calgary after defeating the United States after extra time in the final on Tuesday.

In group fights, last Thursday the Canadians defeated their old rival 5-1, but this time they had a tougher time with the nine-time winner, the last five World Cup gold medalists.

The defending team scored a two-goal advantage in 2:40 in the middle of the first quarter, and the Canadians lost in the first half of the second quarter in 2:29. No more goals were scored in the original time of the match, so extra time was taken, as Canadian captain Marie-Philip Paulin decided the fate of the gold medal in the 68th minute. In addition to Brian Jenner’s goal on the winning team, she has excelled at the other two goals in preparation.

Canada won the Women’s World Hockey ChampionshipSource: Getty Images via AFP / 2021 Getty Images / Derek Leung

The Women’s World Cup has been held since 1990, with Canada winning the first eight tournaments, but since then the United States has come out in terms of gold medals, and if they could defend their title so far, they could have caught up with their big opponent. However, Canada won the eleventh gold and widened the difference to two. After 2012, the band was able to take the lead again and take the 11th silver medalist US national team off the throne.

The bronze medal went to the Finns, and fifth place went to the Russians on the closing day.

See also  Hockey: Hungarian hockey players sold out in the Women's NHL Draft

The Hungarian team finished in their first Elite World Cup final in ninth in Calgary and they could also be top next year.

Canada – USA 3-2 (0-2, 2-0, 0-0, 1-0) – after extra time
For third place:
Finland – Switzerland 3-1 (1-0, 2-1, 0-0)
For fifth place:
Russia-Japan 2-0 (1-0, 0-0, 1-0)
Final results of the tournament: 1. Canada, 2. United States, 3. Finland, 4. Switzerland, 5. Russia, 6. Japan, 7. Czech Republic, 8. Germany, 9. Hungary, 10. Denmark.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *