Black College Football Hall of Fame: Finalists

“The Black College Football Player of the Year Award showcases the immense talent of our HBCU student-athletes today,” said Doug Williams, BCFHOF Co-Founder and 2011 Inductee. “Each finalist has had an incredible season and we are excited to celebrate their success.”

The Black College Football Hall of Fame (BCFHOF) announced today four Finalists for the Black College Football Player of the Year Award. The Award is presented annually to the most outstanding football player from a Historically Black College & University (HBCU) that embodies the rich tradition of athletic excellence and integrity associated with HBCUs. Former North Carolina A&T State University, and current Chicago Bears Running Back, Tarik Cohen was selected as the inaugural recipient of the Award in 2016.

The Finalists RB Trenton Cannon (Virginia State University), QB Amir Hall (Bowie State University), QB DeVante Kincade (Grambling State University) and QB Lamar Raynard(North Carolina A&T State University) were chosen by a five-member Selection Committee, which is composed of Black College Football Hall of Fame founders James “Shack” Harris and Doug Williams, longtime SBN Broadcaster and Director of News and Sports for the Power News Radio Network Ty Miller, former USA Today sports writer Roscoe Nance, and ESPN College Football Analyst Jay Walker.

The winner of the 2017 Black College Football Player of the Year Award will be announced on February 10, 2018 at the Ninth Annual Black College Football Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony, Presented by the Atlanta Falcons in Atlanta, Georgia. He will be presented with the Deacon Jones Trophy, named in honor of the football legend and inaugural BCFHOF inductee.

The Finalists will also be recognized at the Celebration Bowl in Atlanta on December 16th, along with the BCFHOF Class of 2018, which will be televised on ABC.

Congratulations Fellas and Good luck !


Leave a Reply


Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember me Lost your password?

Lost Password