Two of the 2016 Football Finalists in one group -

Two of the 2016 Football Finalists in one group –

FIFA has prepared the group schedule for the men’s and women’s tournaments at the Tokyo Olympics.

Brazil beats Germany in the 2016 Olympics final (Photo: AFP)

16 men’s teams and 12 women’s teams will participate in the competition. The Women’s Championship starts on July 21 and the final will take place on August 6. The men will start a day later and the finals will take place on August 7th.

The men’s tournament can feature U24 players (born in 1997 or later) in place of the usual U23. There may be three players over age for each team in the frame. There is no age limit for a woman.

Teams from the same continent cannot be grouped.

Interestingly, in the men’s tournament, defending champion Brazil finished in the top four with Germany, silver medalist in the last Olympic Games. Five years ago in the Rio final, Neymar’s South American team won a penalty shootout against the Germans.

For the women, the silver medal in the 2016 Olympics won the Swedes in a group with the world champion defending the Americans who bid farewell to the top eight in Rio.

Tokyo 2020
the group:
Japan, Mexico, South Africa, France
Group B: South Korea, Honduras, New Zealand, Romania
Group C: Argentina, Spain, Egypt, Australia
Group D: Brazil, Germany, Ivory Coast, Saudi Arabia
The two first-placed finalists in the groups advance to the quarter-finals.

a woman
Group E:
Japan, Great Britain, Canada, Chile
Group F: Netherlands, Brazil, China, Zambia
Group G: The United States, Sweden, Australia and New Zealand
The first-placed finalists in the groups and the top two thirds of the group advance to the quarter-finals.

See also  Index - Abroad - The Scottish National Party has called the Greens for a second independence referendum

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.