The British can enter Hungary on various terms starting in January

The British can enter Hungary on various terms starting in January

As a result of Brexit, the rules under which UK citizens can enter Hungary will change from January 2021, police said on their website on Wednesday.

The National Police Headquarters Communications Service (ORFK) has released information on the regarding the UK’s exit from the European Union, regarding changing entry requirements due to the change in the status of British citizens.

He wrote that under the 2020 Act on Right of Residence for UK Citizens and Members of Their Families, British Citizens and Members of Their Families who arrived and resided in Hungary for a longer period before December 31, 2020 would receive their acquired rights through EU membership from 1 January 2021. It may be retained after they can To apply for and obtain the status of the beneficiary, the terms of which can be read on the website of the General National Directorate of Migration (

For UK citizens and family members who do not have the right to freedom of movement and who are not eligible for beneficiary status as of next January, the rules are laid down in on this In the link in the section for non-EU citizens, Norwegians, Icelanders, Swiss or Liechtenstein.


ORFK drew attention to the fact that UK citizens can enter Hungary without a visa.

After a referendum in June 2016, the United Kingdom announced its intention to leave the European Union in the spring of 2017 and left the organization on January 31, 2020.

On January 30, 2020, the House of Representatives of the governments of the member states of the European Union also adopted the Brexit agreement, thus completing the process of approval of Brexit by the European Union. The agreement went into effect at midnight CET on January 31 and the transition period began until December 31. This period could have been extended by agreement between the two parties, but in June this year Britain did not want to take advantage of this opportunity. According to a joint statement issued by the heads of the European Union institutions and the British Prime Minister in June, the transition period ends on December 31, in accordance with the terms of the agreement to end British membership in the European Union under the London decision.

See also  World Cup 2022: Panama swims into bankruptcy and defeats the United States of America

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *