Canada won the final against the United States

Canada won the final against the United States

Host Canada won the Women’s World Hockey Championship in Calgary after defeating the United States after extra time in the final on Tuesday.

Canada wins the 2021 Women’s World Hockey Championship (Image: Getty Images)

In group fights, last Thursday the Canadians defeated their old rival 5-1, but this time they had a much tougher time with the nine-time winner, their last five World Cup gold medalists.


The defending team took a two-goal lead at 2:40 in the middle of the first quarter through Alexandra Carpenter’s double, which the Canadians lost in the first part of the second quarter in 2:29. No more goals were scored during the match’s original time, so extra time was taken in which Canadian captain Marie-Philippe Pauline decided the fate of the gold medal in the 68th minute (2-3). On the winning team, in addition to Brian Jenner’s goal, she excelled in the other two goals in preparation.

The Women’s World Cup has been held since 1990, Canada won the first eight tournaments, but since then the United States has come out on top in terms of the number of gold medals, and if they had managed to defend their title so far, they would have caught up with their big opponent. However, Canada won its eleventh gold medal and increased the difference to two. After 2012, the squad was able to again take the initiative and overthrow the 11th US national team, which took the 11th silver medal.

The bronze medal went to the Finns, while the fifth place went to the Russians on the last day.

See also  Tokyo 2020: I missed seven inches of the world weightlifting record

The Hungarian team in their first World Cup Elite finish finished ninth in Calgary, and may also be on top next year.

Women’s World Championship

Canada-US 3–2 (0–2, 2–0, 0–0, 1–0) – after extension
for third place
Finland-Switzerland 3-1 (1–0, 2–1, 0–0)
for fifth place
Russia-Japan 2-0 (1-0, 0-0, 1-0)

Tournament Final Result: 1. Canada, 2. United States, 3. Finland, 4. Switzerland, 5. Russia, 6. Japan, 7. Czech Republic, 8. Germany, 9. Hungary, 10 Denmark.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.