British and Japanese prime ministers sign a comprehensive defense cooperation agreement in London

According to The Downing Street View on Wednesday, the agreement – which is the widest such agreement between the two countries in more than a hundred years – will significantly expand defense and security cooperation between Great Britain and Japan.

According to the Prime Minister’s Office in London, one of the central elements of the agreement is that it will be possible for the two countries to station armed forces in each other’s territory, and this will allow for more and more joint planning and implementation. Complex military exercises than before.

According to a statement from Rishi Sunak’s office, Great Britain is the first European country with which Japan concludes a defense cooperation agreement of this kind – providing mutual access to each other’s territory.

Preparation for the agreement began in May last year, during the reign of British Prime Minister Boris Johnson, two years ago, and the preparatory work has now reached the signing of the agreement.

Downing Street notes that a few weeks before the conclusion of the Anglo-Japanese defense treaty, Great Britain, Japan and Italy agreed to an initiative called the Global Air Combat Program, which aims to jointly develop a new generation of combat aircraft.

According to the Prime Minister’s Office in London on Wednesday, the bilateral meeting of Rishi Sunak and Keseda Fumio is expected to discuss Great Britain’s accession to the Comprehensive and Upcoming Pacific Partnership (CPTPP).

London formally submitted its application to join the CPTPP on February 1, 2021, one year after the termination of British membership in the European Union (Brexit).

See also  More and more countries fear China - this is the time when half the world gathers in fear

The original version of the agreement, called the Trans-Pacific Partnership (TPP), was signed by 12 countries in the Asia-Pacific region on February 4, 2016, in Auckland, New Zealand, after many years of negotiations.

The United States was also among the signatories, but former US President Donald Trump, in accordance with his election promise, signed the decree on the basis of which the United States withdrew from the agreement in January 2017, on the first day of his first working week. .

On March 8, 2018, representatives of 11 other countries initialed the agreement to maintain the Pacific Free Trade Area without the United States. Australia, Brunei, Canada, Chile, Japan, Malaysia, Mexico, New Zealand, Peru, Singapore and Vietnam are members of the reformed agreement called the Comprehensive and Forward Pacific Partnership.

The annual GDP of the CPTPP group with a population of 500 million is about $13,500 billion; This is about 13.4 percent of the value of global GDP.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.