Australia, Canada and Britain have also joined

Australia, Canada and Britain have also joined

After New Zealand, Australia, Canada and Britain also joined a US political boycott that announced earlier this week that none of its diplomats would travel to Beijing for next year’s Winter Olympics and Paralympics, MTI reported.

Scott Morrison (Photo: AFP)


Olympic sports specialist According to his report, the three countries took this decision for reasons similar to those of the Americans. The United States has declared a political boycott of “crimes against genocide, humanity and other human rights violations” in China’s Xinjiang Uyghur province.

Boris Johnson The British Prime Minister added that he did not support athletes boycotting the Games.

The Canadian Olympic Committee said in a statement that it is concerned about China’s problems and understands that the Olympic Games will always play a prominent role in raising awareness in the world. The organization also stressed that boycotting an athlete, on the other hand, would only harm the competitors and not affect substantive changes.

He also confirmed the start of Australian athletes Scott Morrison Prime Minister, welcomed his announcement of the Olympic organization in the country.

“Australia is a great sporting country, and sport and other political issues have to be chosen separately. These are problems between two governments.” He said.

Deputy Prime Minister of New Zealand, Grant Robertson He said his country had already told China in October that for political reasons, no government officials would travel to the Pentathlon Games in February or the Paralympics in March.

Thomas Bach, The president of the International Olympic Committee (IOC) has previously made clear on the issue that his organization is not a “super global government” and that the Olympics and athlete participation “go beyond politics”. Bach stressed that the IOC continues to take a “politically neutral” stance and will respect the decisions of governments.

See also  The location for the opening race for the Formula 1 season has been changed

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *